learning patience.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 presetCan I say I’ve nailed “patience”?
I wish I could say YES.

A semester of experiences dealing with different kinds of people, personalities and instances in group projects, work, orgs, etc., could make you feel either two things: delighted with getting through the past 6 months without having a mental break down, or disappointed from realizing that maybe I can never be patient after all.

Truly, it was tested this semester, especially ever since I got a car here in Manila. Driving through rush hour traffic on the 15th day of the month, 7 PM at night and in EDSA will definitely press your “buttons”. My nerves were tested to their limit. But then again, you really have to put things into perspective and realize that traffic is really nothing compared to the different personalities I everyone faces every single day.

I have to admit, I can say that I did fail several times this month. My patience broke down quite a few times. Reflecting on the last few months, I realized that there are a few instances where I would say that I wish I acted better, I wish I didn’t react at all, I wish I never did that and I wish I never said that. However, one thing I realized as well is that learning patience is necessary and as important for getting by every single day facing me only to some extent.  Sometimes you can’t just be that person absorbent to whatever it is that may be irritating, annoying and unproductive. You have to react accordingly.

At this point in time, I can’t tell you I’ve nailed patience down to its very core because I know for a fact that there are others who would consider my reactions to certain factors that really test me as unnecessary and clearly a sign of no patience at all. But I guess one thing I could say though is that the past few months allowed me to explore the depth of my patience (if that even makes sense).

In a more colloquial language, I now know the level of BS I can tolerate and I now know how I tend to respond to BS. I am quite delighted.

Perhaps this is a skill I can put on my resumé? I kid. But hey, I truly believe its something that could help me get by in the coming future.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

