Happy Living No. 1

Let’s get a little personal.

About a year ago, I got really sick. I was what the doctors called a “TB Suspect” or in other words, doctors thought I may have had Tuberculosis, which is a very contagious disease in the lungs that would take months to cure. Thankfully, what caused the sharp pains in my chest and drowning feeling every day and night just so happened to be pneumonia which is half as bad only.

I mention this because during the month I was sick, I lost a lot of weight. For a 5 foot 4 inches girl, weighing 104 lbs was extremely under weight. I wasn’t anorexic or anything however, I did look sick with eyes as deep as caves, hair fall doubled in quantity and I was just pale and dull most of the time. My stomach seemed bloated despite being extremely skinny every where else and my period became irregular. Basically, my body wasn’t functioning right, even after I recovered from my illness.

I started to become more conscious with the way I looked because clothes didn’t fit me well and I’ve been getting the “you look too skinny, borderline sickly looking” lines from friends and family. I was fed up and food alone didn’t seem to do the trick.

Thankfully, a friend of mine introduced to me a new exercise regime called HIIT or High Intensity Interval Training. These are thirty minute work outs that can be done at the gym or even at home. I saw drastic results with in a month’s time and that motivated me even more. I did HIIT for about 8 weeks at least 2-3 times a week, but moved on to doing regular exercises in the gym, assisted by a very close friend of mine who has been a gym buff for a while now.

This may not be the only reason why I gained more of the right kind of mass. Perhaps my diet and metabolism also played a big role. However, this HIIT that I was introduced to jumpstarted my drive to actually care for my body both internally and externally. Currently I am 110 lbs, still under weight but at least feeling a lot healthierand more confident with my body.

 

I’d love to talk about my diet and fitness exercises, but that’s for another post.

 

Leave a Reply

